Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

A great night

Sunday 13 September 2009

The club's annual awards evening, held last night, was a great success with a record attendance. Special guests Christian Malcolm, Matt Elias, Joe Thomas and Simon Lawson were on hand to present the awards and inspire the next generation of young stars. And there was plenty of young talent there to receive due recognition of their achievements in 2009.

A big thank you must go to the organisers, Julie Jones, Julie Regan, Andrew Seary, Helen Falsini, Vince Jones, Kay Chapman and Tracey Cogan.

Certificates and medals for each age group were presented by Joe Thomas and SImon Lawson and the athletes' athletes awards (those selected by the athletes themselves) were presented by Matt Elias. The award winners were:

Under 13 Boys – Ciaran Lewis
Under 13 Girls – Bethan Trigg
Under 15 Boys – Adrian Lawrence
Under 15 Girls – Catrin Griffiths
Under 17 Boys – Alex Coomber
Under 17 Girls – Sam Cogan
Under 20 Boys – Gareth Hopkins
Under 20 Girls – Lauren Regan

TEAM MANAGERS' ATHLETE; This award was voted for by the team managers and is given to the athletes who in their opinion have demonstrated the most commitment, enthusiasm and willingness to help when needed to do so.

Under 13 Boys – Luke Harry
Under 13 Girls – Carys Dawe
Under 15 Boys – Jonathan Bailey
Under 15 Girls – Laura Trigg
Under 17 Boys – Ryan Leonard
Under 17 Girls – Jamie Leigh Bowen
Under 20 Boys – Lewis Long
Under 20 Girls – Ayla Phillips

A special SIMON LANE MEMORIAL AWARD was presented and the winner was:  Cerri-Anne Santos

BEST PERFORMANCE AWARDS;  These athletes were selected after considering their championship performances along with Welsh & UK rankings for the 2009 season.  These were presented by Christian Malcolm and Matt Elias.

Under 13 Boys – Conor Kidner (Welsh rank 3rd, 200m 27.1; WJL, 25/7/09 Aberdare)
Under 13 Girls –  Kate Seary (Welsh rank 3rd: Welsh champion  HJ, 1.35; SW Reg Champs)
Under 15 Boys–  Tom Bevan (UK rank 42nd, 400m 53.98; Welsh Champs 11/7/09 Cardiff)
Under 15 Girls –  Ffion Bodily (UK rank 5th, HJ 1.67 SIAB Antrim 18/7/09)
Under 17 Boys – Lewis Newton (UK rank 2nd PV 4.40; Celtic Games 1/8/09 Carmarthen)
Under 17 Girls –  Mica Moore (UK rank 6th 100m 12.07/12.03w; England U15/U17 champs)
Under 20 Men –  Simon Lawson ( UK rank 2nd 5000m 14.28.91; Welsh Champs 11/7/09)
                              2nd in European Junior Champs 10,000m in Novi Sad; First GB Vest)
Under 20 Women – Elinor Lewis (UK rank 6th PV 3.74; Welsh Schools Champs 4/7/09)

The evening ended with a disco and it was clear that it had been complete success and we hope all the club's young stars will be motivated to train hard through the winter so that 2010 will be even more successful.

Photographs from this year's will be posted on the website when they are available.