Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Cardiff second in final

Wednesday 25 August 2010

Cardiff's team finished a close second to Carmarthen Harriers in the Welsh Junior League final, held in Brecon last Sunday, 22nd August. After qualifying easily from the semi final held in Cardiff on 7th August, Cardiff was hoping to topple rivals Carmarthen who have won this competition on many occasions.

Amongst many excellent performance by Cardiff athletes in Brecon, special mention should be made of Gareth Hopkins and Jamaul Whyte who had competed the previous day in Liverpool for the senior British League team. Jamaul competed in four events in Brecon (100m, 200m, 400m & 4x100m relay) and Gareth competed in three (100m, 200m & 4x100m relay).

Cardiff's individual event winners were:

Under 20 men:  Gareth Hopkins (100mA, 200mA);  Jacob Matthews (Shot Put A, Discus A);  Bradley Cole (Hammer A).

Under 20 women:  Amy Hendrickson (1500mA);  Elinor Lewis (Pole Vault A).

Under Under 17 men:  Jamaul Whyte (100mA, 200mA, 400mA);  Michael Prentice (100mB);  Sam Gordon (200mB, Triple Jump A);  Eliot Slade (800mA);  Rhys Williams (100mH A, High Jump B);  Nathan Lawrence (100H B, Hammer B);  Jonathan Bailey (High Jump A);  James McGuire (Triple Jump B);  Matthew Field (Shot Put A, Discus A);  Ryan Leonard (Discus B).

Under 17 women:  Olivia Dyer (100m B);  Clare Harwood (1500m B).

Under 15 boys:  James McLean (100mA);  Omar Khalid (100mB);  Ryan Cooper (200mB);  Jacob Preece (400mB);  Ciaran Lewis (1500mB);  Adrian Lawrence (High Jump B);  Mattheo Holmes (Hammer A, Javelin A).

Under 15 girls:  Steph Lowe (800mB);  Rebecca Foley (75H A);  Laura Trigg (High Jump A);  Olivia Evans (Pole Vault A);  Sally Nicholas (pole Vault B).

Under 13 boys:  Daniel Griffiths (800mB);  Alex Lowe (1500mB);  Harry Gough (High Jump B).

Under 13 girls:  Sian Purcell (100mB, 70mH B);  Grace Hubbard-Smith (200mB);  Anna Mirza-Davies (800mA);  Bethan Register (800mB). 

The overall match result was:  1. Carmarthen H (1632 points);  2.Cardiff AAC (1574);  3. Swansea H (1425);  4. Pembroke H (1029); 5. Wrexham AC (899); 6. Cwmbran H (898);  7. Newport AC (530). 

To view the complete results click on RESULTS.