Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Commonwealth Medal for Nat

Sunday 25 September 2011

Cardiff's Nat Lane (pictured, right, on the victory podium) took third place and the bronze medal in the inaugural Commonwealth Trail Running Championship held in Anglesey today, 25th September. Held over a multi terrain course of some 55k, including a stretch along the beach, to come third in a field of approximately 100 runners from the Commonwealth is a fine achievement for Nat who was representing Wales. Former Cardiff stalwart Richie Gardiner, who is enjoying a spell of excellent form, went two better to take the gold medal with Andrew Davies second. Congratulations to both Nat and Richie.

The inaugural Commonwealth Ultra-Trail Running Championships took place in the beautiful Newborough Forest on the Isle of Anglesey. A race of 55km for men and women  tested the skills of trail runners and ultra distance athletes alike.

Trail running has gained great traction in the running world over the last 5 years, with the ultra-trail scene in the US and Europe booming. With Commonwealth athletes such as Lizzy Hawker, Jez Bragg, Anna Frost and Angela Mudge amongst the world’s best performers.

The Commonwealth has a long tradition of ultra distance running (defined as distances beyond the marathon distance of 42.2 km), and competitors battled it out over a 5-lap course that included Newborough’s singletrack trails, fire roads and the beautiful habitat of Llanddwyn sands.

With apologies for the mistake in the first report.

 Ciaran Lewis

  The day before, Saturday 24th, the Commonwealth Mountain Championships were held in Llanberis and,
  during the Senior championships three Junior Mountain races held. Cardiff's Ciaran Lewis ran in the Under 14
   race and finished in second place behind Callum Davidson, an athlete from Rossendale Harriers in Lancashire.
  Ciaran was the first Welsh athlete home, over a minute ahead of the athlete in third place. The boys were
   presented their medals by Bruno Gozzelino the President of the World Mountain Running  Association.