Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

Six go to Delhi

Thursday 19 August 2010

The Welsh athletics team for the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi was announced today and includes six Cardiff AAC athletes. The successful ones are Rhys Williams (400mH), Christian Malcolm (100/200m), Joe Thomas (800m), James Thie (1500m), Gareth Warburton (800m) and Bryone Raine (pole vault). In addition the team management will be led by Cardiff's former international 400m runner Mike Delaney.

Other members of the 23 strong Welsh team include decathlete David Guest, who competes for Cardiff as a higher competition athlete, and former members Brett Morse (discus) and Paul Walker (pole vault).

European silver medallists Rhys Williams and Christian Malcolm, along with Swansea's David Greene, will be chasing Commonwealth medals and Christian will need to be at the top of his form against the Caribbean sprinters.

Joe Thomas is runnng back into good form after a tricky season and Gareth Warburton deserves his place after consistently good performances, including a recent personal best in the Diamond League at Crystal Palace. James Thie will be delighted to make the team as the culmination of a long and successful career.

For Christian Malcolm, this will be his fourth Commonwealth Games and he already has one silver medal, in the 200m in 1998 in Kuala Lumpur. Christian has also been selected to represent Europe in the IAAF Continental Cup (formerly the World Cup) to be held in Split, Croatia, in September.

Congratulations and good luck to the entire Welsh team.