Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

John Penny thanked at AGM

Friday 21 November 2014

In opening the Annual General Meeting of the club, held last night in the club room, President Bernie Plain paid tribute to John Penny's long membership and service to the club in many roles. John (80) has decided to give up coaching and Bernie presented him with a memento of the club's appreciation.

Four distinguished members were elected as life members for their outstanding contributions: Alex Donald, Matt Elias, James Thie and James Williams. Each has made an important contribution as an athlete as well as in other ways to the successes of the club and their elections as life members were warmly received.

Chairman Graham Webb reported on a challenging but successful year and drew attention to Cardiff's representation in Wales' Commonwealth Games team, to David Omoregie's bronze medal at the world junior championship and the UK Women's League team's promotion to Division 1. He underlined the importance of the successful launch of the Academy and said that the club could look forward with confidence to the future.

President Bernie Plain said what an honour it was to be President of a great club but that the club could not function without the fantastic contributions of the coaches, team managers, canteen, administrators; in fact, everyone that played a part in keeping the club going. He paid tribute to and thanked them all.

During the formal part of the meeting, the following were elected:

Patron: Lord Mayor of Cardiff
President: Bernard Plain
Chairman: Graham Webb
Secretary: Ann Cooper
Treasurer: Steve Davies
Membership Secretary: Kath Elias
Chairman of the Track and Field Committee: Andrew Seary
Cross Country and Road Coordinator: Alex Donald
Coaching Coordinator: Dave Hawthorn
Additional member of the General Committee: Garry Jones
Additional member of the General Committee: Hugh Phillips
Additional member of the General Committee: Tim Fry