Welcome to Wales' Premier Athletic Club
together we are one

School Awards

Friday 15 May 2009

Many Cardiff AAC athletes received awards at the annual Cardiff & Vale Schools Athletics Association’s Presentation Evening, held in Barry last Tuesday, 12th May. The occasion recognised the achievements during the 2008-09 cross country season of those athletes who won championships, competed in the Welsh Schools’ national championships, represented Wales and achieved other distinctions. There were also awards for outstanding individuals. Cardiff AAC athletes were winners in all categories so well done to all.

Presenters of the awards included Graham Webb, President of the South Wales Regional Athletic Association and Treasurer of Cardiff AAC and Paul Darney, President of Cardiff AAC.

Cardiff’s award winners were:

Individual Championships:
Year 7 – Under 13: John Cove (2nd)
Year 7 – Under 13: John Cove (highest league points scorer)
Year 7 – Under 13: Josh Kirk (3rd)
Year 11 – Under 17: Darren Jones (1st)
Year 13 – Under 20: Rowan Axe (1st)
Year 13 – Under 20: Rowan Axe (highest league points scorer)
Year 13 – Under 20: Tomos Whitmarsh-Knight (2nd)

Years 8 & 9 – Under 15: Clare Harwood (2nd)
Year 11 – Under 17:  Lucy Harvey (1st)
Year 11 – Under 17:  Bethan Daw (2nd)
Year 11 – Under 17:  Cerri-Anne Santos (3rd)
Year 13 – Under 20:  Gwenno Brown (1st)
Year 13 – Under 20:  Gwenno Brown (highest league points scorer)
Year 13 – Under 20:  Vikki Jackson (2nd)
Year 13 – Under 20:  Alice Johnson (3rd)

Represented Welsh Schools against Scottish Schools, Irish Schools & Welsh Athletics:
Girls:  Gwenno Brown;  Alice Johnson: Vicky Jackson.

Represented Welsh Athletics: Tomos Whitmarsh-Knight;  Lauren Brobin.

Welsh Schools selections for London Mini Marathon:
Girls:  Gwenno Brown;  Vicky Jackson.
Boys:  Rowan Axe;  Jack Gooch.

Participation in Welsh Schools national championships 2009:
Girls:  Gwenno Brown;  Vicky Jackson;  Alice Johnson;  Lauren Brobin;  Lauren Regan;  Bethan Davies;  Bethan Daw;  Lucy Harvey;  Rebecca Findlay;  Heledd Williams;  Anthea Young;  Clare Harwood;  Lucy Tarrant;  Izzy Lewis;  Kate Seary.
Boys:  Rowan Axe;  Tomos Whitmarsh-Knight;  Matt Hooper;  Darren Jones;  Joseph Whitmarsh-Knight;  Nicholas Gallimore;  Jack Gooch;  John Cove;  Josh Kirk;  Sam Gough;  Ciaran Lewis;  Luke Harry.

Special Awards:
The Stanwell Old Girls Cup for outstanding girl:       Gwenno Brown
The Birchgrove Cup for outstanding boy:                 Rowan Axe
The Denys Gumbley Shield for service:                  Tomos Whitmarsh-Knight





Gwenno Brown with her awards.